Emotional damage from church

I have stated in many different posts that I used to be a Christian for some time (1991 to 2012). Other places on this blog I stated that I used to be an Independent Fundamental Baptist (for a good 15 years).

You’d have to thumb through each of my blog posts under “Religion and the Like” for you to get the full background of how I was damaged from the IFB.  Some may not understand what emotional damage will result from attending an IFB church over several years or from JOINING an IFB church.

If you’ve never been to an IFB church one time, how the hell do you know what it is like? It is very hard to put into words. I just say it is a bunch of “man worship” instead of god worship. I went to other churches that were more so called ‘Non-Denominational” between 2004-2008 and I didn’t see much man worship in them, but again I didn’t stay  long enough to find out!  At most – I’d go to about 4 Sundays and then leave.

I follow several blogs. This one I pay particular attention to since the author of this blog used to be a Pastor of Evangelical Churches and Baptist Churches for 25 years. His name is Bruce and he is an atheist since 2008. http://brucegerencser.net 

This man KNOWS how to blog and blog well! I read his first post below (Part 1 and 2). I have yet to read Bruce’s part 3 on emotional manipulation.  He has a post on sexual abuse that I encourage others to read it. I have read many of his posts in 2013. If you are a former Christian, I encourage you to read his blog. If you are a current Christian (and pastor) I encourage you to read his blog since he is a former pastor and you may be able to learn something from him.

Here is an overview how the basics of church going is all about the pastor (and it could be considered a form of man worship):  http://brucegerencser.net/2013/10/emotional-manipulation-in-the-evangelical-church/   (I particularly like the comic in the middle during the alter call where the pastor, the pianist and the man in the back are looking around when all eyes are to be “closed” when hands are raised. If you have not been to an IFB, you will not understand this!)

This covers emotional damage:

Part 1   http://brucegerencser.net/series/does-evangelicalism-cause-emotional-damage/

Part 2: http://brucegerencser.net/2013/08/does-evangelical-christianity-cause-emotional-damage-part-two/     One  very long quote:  “By far, Evangelical women suffer the most emotional abuse. It is hard to imagine any Evangelical woman coming away from Evangelicalism without being emotionally damaged. . . .Is it any wonder many Evangelical women lack self-esteem and think poorly of themselves? How could it be otherwise? Everywhere they look women are progressing, free to live their life on their own terms.  Yet, the Evangelical woman is chained to an ancient religious text and a religion that demeans her and views her, at times, as little more than property or a prostitute”.

Sexual abuse:  http://brucegerencser.net/2013/10/evangelical-pastors-who-take-sexual-advantage-of-adult-church-members/

http://brucegerencser.net/2014/01/what-evangelicals-mean-when-they-use-the-word-god/

Just know that religious abuse/spiritual abuse is real and it can cause low self esteem for a very long time. .

If you go to a baptist church like I did – and if you are gay or transgendered, you will be told that that part of you is a sin and that you are choosing to go that route.

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Emotional damage from church

  1. My responses used to “go” and then reappear on the screen.

    They don’t do that now so I think they are not actually “going”.

    Betty

    >________________________________ > From: sandra: speaking my mind >To: tippind@yahoo.com >Sent: Monday, January 13, 2014 11:24 PM >Subject: [New post] Emotional damage from religion and church > > > > WordPress.com >sandbar1 posted: “I have stated in many different posts that I used to be a Christian for some time (1991 to 2012). Other places on this blog I stated that I used to be an Independent Fundamental Baptist (for a good 15 years).  I became an atheist in Feb 2013 after years o” >

    • Betty, I changed the settings on leaving a comment. Do you have a wordpress account? This could be the culprit and IF it is the new settings that I changed – it is NOT YOU!!

Comments are closed.